Monitoring your Facebook timeline

When someone tags you in a photo or status on Facebook it gets automatically posted on your timeline. But what if you don’t want it displayed for all your friends to see? You can easily control what appears on your timeline in a few quick steps:

  1. Click on the settings tab in the upper right corner of Facebook (the gear icon) and go to Account Settings.
  2. In the left column, click on Timeline and Tagging.
  3. Under the section “Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?” click on Edit.
  4. Change the dropdown menu to Enabled.

From now on you will receive an email (or notification in Facebook) whenever someone tries to add something to your Timeline.

There are two ways to approve these additions. One way is to click on the notification and it will take you directly to your Activity Log. Alternatively, you can click on your profile name and then click on the Activity Log button on the right of your cover photo. This Activity Log shows everything that was approved or needs approval for your timeline.